Denny Sinnoh's "Akihabara Starlight"

I always see these swirls “the morning after” in The Big Easy …

Welcome to the Big Easy, site of this week’s Pokémon post. Y’all pull up a bar stool now …

Shuppet: ( カゲボウズ Kagebouzu in Japanese) is a GHOST-type “puppet” Pokémon.  It evolves into the GHOST-type Banette (  ジュペッタ Juppeta in Japanese) – the “marionette Pokémon” at level 37.

This description of Banette  is from Pokémon Emerald:  “An abandoned plush doll became this Pokémon. They are said to live in garbage dumps and wander about in search of the children that threw them away.”  … and from Diamond & Pearl : “A doll that became a Pokémon over its grudge from being junked. It seeks the child that disowned it.”  Creepy.

I gave one Banette the name Baguette, after these wonderful bread rolls characteristic of New Orleans. They are great for breakfast with a café au lait.

Baguettes are also very appropriate for the Kalos Region (because it’s France … duh), where you can mega-evolve your Banette.

Here in New Orleans, Baguettes are also good bread to make a “Po-boy” (aka “poor boy”) sandwich (i.e. a shrimp sandwich).  They are nice and doughy as well — great for absorbing a lot of alcohol.  Especially, when you need to get something in your drunken stomach to settle it … and hey … you … look out for that guy … oh no … not here you … go outside .. if you have to … NO!!!

Kids: Learn from your Uncle Denny and always avoid alcohol … but I digress.

banette mon ami

I have also named Banette “Orleans” in honor of the city.

Shuppet is a hand puppet.  I named a female Shuppet “Dark Doily” after those wonderful doilies that your Grandmother makes.  Kids, make your Grandmother feel special by asking her if you can have one of her handmade doilies.  She will love you for it, and it will make her happy.  I mean, your sweet Grandma, not the other drunken, abusive one … but I digress once again.

grandmas dark doily

Grandma’s Dark Doily: Don’t be afraid, Dearies.

Shuppet almost looks like a hankie.  I would hate to think that a Pokemon trainer would make a mistake and blow his nose with Shuppet.  Likely it would evolve into Banette and get back at them with some evil dark ghost revenge.

shuppet-pokemon-hand-puppet

When my Dark Doily evolved, I did not think that it looked like a doily anymore, so I re-named it “Dolly Darko”.  “Dolly” as Banette is a doll/puppet Pokemon anyway.  Also, this is a reference to the movie “Donnie Darko” which I hated.  Yes, all you “edgy” blogger dudes out there creamed-your-jeans over that movie, but I thought that it was just stupid, and I hated it.  Illogical, and very bad story telling … , but I digress once more.

donnie darko scene

I initially thought that Mega-Banette could be called “Zipperhead” — but I think that this name might have negative connotations.  Comedian Andrew “Dice” Clay sometimes used the word as a street-level insult against Asian immigrants.

“Wudda you lookin’ at … ZIPPERHEAD?”

A great nickname for Banette might be “The Hoople” or alternatively “Mott” after the 1970s “glam rock” music group Mott-The-Hoople.  They are best known for their hit “All the way from Memphis” linked here, however they had a kind of scary-dramatic song called “Marionette”.  Very cool with headphones!

“Oh, God, these wires are so tight …I’m just a marionette …”

Creepy.  … but I think this captures the spirit and theme of a Banette.

Banette_plush_commission_by_YutakaYumi

I named another female Banette “DearPrudence” after the Beatles song (linked here). I just thought it fit. Perhaps they are prune color. “Won’t you come out to play?”

I knew you would ask … “Denny, what about the pretty-girl Pokemon cosplay?”

banette_gijinka_by_girloveslink-d4kcgvb

Am I really becoming all that predictable?

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Retro Gamer Ireland

Retro video game nerd with a love of nostalgia and all things gaming.

J and K Blog

J for Jpop and K for Kpop!

Writing Under The Shades of Blue

I write not just to express but to explain.

Brian Camp's Film and Anime Blog

Flash Gordon meets Cowboy Bebop at Shaolin Temple

YuriReviews and More

YuriReviews is a blog about everything yuri~

ANIME ANIMÁCIÓK

ANIMÁCIÓS GYŰJTEMÉNY KÉPEKBEN

SilentReaders

Just Readers

Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

愛の演歌: Love of Enka

A blog about my passion for Enka music~

Gastradamus

Gastradamus is my name, and Gassy Topics are my game!

Rationalising The Universe

one post at a time

The Reviewer's Corner

The Sometimes Serious Corner of the Internet for Anime, Manga, and Comics

Pinky's Palace

All Things Anime

Tokyo Five

A family of five in Tokyo, Japan...

Life Confusions

"I Will Find Words, Smith them Down. For Love Is Infinite And So Are They."

Fantage Chatter

Lost in Words

Manga Toritsukareru Koto

"We are not obsessed. We just need anime and manga in our life."

Inner Thoughts of an Extrovert

Thoughts and ramblings from an extroverted anime fan.

2+2=4

AKB48 Shipper? welcome

百合 Goggles

百合 Is Life

Kawaii Kakkoii Sugoi

Japanese Culture Magazine for the perpetually Cute and Cool

Rhino

My Journey through Video Games & Geek Culture

The Punch Bowl

raw feelings and thoughts

Dyversions: Blog of 1,001 Games

The [mis]adventures of a gamer and shopaholic

~noor~

I'm not an author. I write only to render a bit of joy...and happily be a part of sad and coy! Your life is my canvas and your smile is the enhancement of my creation!

Falconhaxx

This and that, sometimes and occasionally.

Anime Reviews and Lots of Other Stuff!

Where We Can Watch Our Anime in Peace

Pokécology

Ecologically overthinking representations of space/place and nonhumans in pokéverse! Updated Fridays

JapanTrekker

Explore Japan!

Mage in a Barrel

An Anime Blog for Those Who Want to Find Magic in Unexpected Places

Land of the Rising Sound

Rise to the Sound of Japan!

s e n t i m e n t i a

population: me

OtakuGamerGirlT

All Anime, Manga, Games, All the Time

CheesyBits' Paradise

Heya! Welcome to my paradise! Feel free to explore my blog! (^o^)/

Coal talents

coalition of arts and entertainment

the limitless imagination

a place to let record what exists in my head, at this point in time.

Sakura Publishing Official Blog

Interview with independent and mainstream authors, and the latest scoop on the best new indie books in the world

Rated A For Anime

The Best Place to Get Anime Bookmarks, Calendars, More

STAR ♥ DUST

by Rosie Darling

honyasbookshelf

sharing a passion for story

An Anarchist's Cookbook

Cooking up a world without coercion

48 Family Center

Everything about 48 Family, is here!

