Denny Sinnoh's "Akihabara Starlight"

placard part

I LOVE THIS!

Until now, I never liked the AKB48 single “Kokoro no Placard” all that much, for reasons which I hope are understandable. (A fan posted the original AKB48 version on YouTube  linked here.)

Thing 1: I am not a fan of all this “hash tagging” these days.  Hash Tagging: It sounds like something from the movie “Midnight Express”.  I don’t get it.

Thing 2:  I was TRYING to follow the tune.  The more I tried to follow it, the more it started to sound like that Bob Dylan song about “Everybody Must Get Stoned” linked here.

Thing 3: Most importantly, I CANNOT READ THE SIGNS.  I cannot read Japanese, so it is all lost on me.  Everyone else is singing, dancing and having fun with those placards … EXCEPT ME.  It is such a happy song, but I feel so left out.  I cannot understand the words either, but I did catch something that sounded like “Cinco de Mayo” … Huh?  I feel just like the English translation of “Kokoro no Placard” … WHAT’S SO AMUSING???

My heart’s placard
I’ll try holding it up
With my true feelings
On display…
If I can’t put it into words
I can write it down instead
The thing I want to convey
The thing I want to say
Please notice my placard

Full lyrics are linked from Studio 48 here

http://stage48.net/studio48/kokoronoplacard.html

Although I was not hot for the original AKB48 video, I LOVE this Chibi version!  It is a lot of fun.  I love the adorable Chibi-versions of the AKB girls.  The Chibi-AKB girls are wearing some of their famous outfits from other music videos. I would also say that the Chibi-versions are still recognizable as the real idols! Acchan makes an appearance at the Tokyo Dome! … and did you see Sayaka Yamamoto on the guitar (Time 1:14)? Maybe that squeaky, quirky singing works better for cartoons (sorry girls).

Just kidding. You ladies go ahead and make great Jpop song and dance. I’m not Japanese.  You make your videos the way you want to, even if I cannot understand it.

I’m just an aging, burned-out American kung-fu retro new-wave hippie punk hipster wannabe poser.

Gonna just hang out with the “Rainy Day Women” today.

Comments on: "“Kokoro no Placard”: I will not feel so all alone — only because of this Chibi version!" (6)

  1. Although Mr. Zimmerman’s song is just a fun and goofy lark, Denny wishes to point out that he is VERY MUCH AGAINST DRUG USE. Furthermore, the portrayals of Presidents Bush and Obama as clueless “stoners” is NOT meant to be political.

    Denny hates both DRUGS and POLITICS.

    Like

  2. I was going to have a go at translating the placards for you but my Japanese is obviously not up to the job. The first placard that I paused (I think it’s the 3rd in the video) says “ダスをする前はお折りボーズ。” If you plug this into a translator program it comes out as gibberish, and I can’t do any better. The words “ダス” and “ボーズ”are foreign loan words that I’ve never heard before. They sound like “dassoo” and “bo-zu”. Does that mean anything to you?
    I hate leaving puzzles unsolved so I might have a go at another one some time.

    Like

    • Thanks! It would be easiest to just ask a Japanese speaker, I guess. Unfortunately, we do not have a native Japanese speaker at the university.

      I love Japanese cinema and music, but it is a complex language to learn. Even with a literal translation, the context and the “slang” also would need to be interpreted.

      Oh well, I gave up watching American football so I can use the time follow Japanese culture : )

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Okay Brock, lay off the girls, want me to call over croagunk, mr.hearteyes?

    Like

  4. ❤ Kokoro no Placard is the best I love it even it's a little bit funny haha 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. “I CANNOT READ THE SIGNS…” this! haha exactly how I felt when I first watched it. I’ve been trying to teach myself japanese, and I’m only done with Hiragana, which is literally the most basic. Hopefully I can get over my laziness and continue on to Katakana and Japanese grammar.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Retro Gamer Ireland

Retro video game nerd with a love of nostalgia and all things gaming.

J and K Blog

J for Jpop and K for Kpop!

Writing Under The Shades of Blue

I write not just to express but to explain.

Brian Camp's Film and Anime Blog

Flash Gordon meets Cowboy Bebop at Shaolin Temple

YuriReviews and More

YuriReviews is a blog about everything yuri~

ANIME ANIMÁCIÓK

ANIMÁCIÓS GYŰJTEMÉNY KÉPEKBEN

SilentReaders

Just Readers

Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

愛の演歌: Love of Enka

A blog about my passion for Enka music~

Gastradamus

Gastradamus is my name, and Gassy Topics are my game!

Rationalising The Universe

one post at a time

The Reviewer's Corner

The Sometimes Serious Corner of the Internet for Anime, Manga, and Comics

Pinky's Palace

All Things Anime

Tokyo Five

A family of five in Tokyo, Japan...

Life Confusions

"I Will Find Words, Smith them Down. For Love Is Infinite And So Are They."

Fantage Chatter

Lost in Words

Manga Toritsukareru Koto

"We are not obsessed. We just need anime and manga in our life."

Inner Thoughts of an Extrovert

Thoughts and ramblings from an extroverted anime fan.

2+2=4

AKB48 Shipper? welcome

百合 Goggles

百合 Is Life

Kawaii Kakkoii Sugoi

Japanese Culture Magazine for the perpetually Cute and Cool

Rhino

My Journey through Video Games & Geek Culture

The Punch Bowl

raw feelings and thoughts

Dyversions: Blog of 1,001 Games

The [mis]adventures of a gamer and shopaholic

~noor~

I'm not an author. I write only to render a bit of joy...and happily be a part of sad and coy! Your life is my canvas and your smile is the enhancement of my creation!

Falconhaxx

This and that, sometimes and occasionally.

Anime Reviews and Lots of Other Stuff!

Where We Can Watch Our Anime in Peace

Pokécology

Ecologically overthinking representations of space/place and nonhumans in pokéverse! Updated Fridays

JapanTrekker

Explore Japan!

Mage in a Barrel

An Anime Blog for Those Who Want to Find Magic in Unexpected Places

Land of the Rising Sound

Rise to the Sound of Japan!

s e n t i m e n t i a

population: me

OtakuGamerGirlT

All Anime, Manga, Games, All the Time

CheesyBits' Paradise

Heya! Welcome to my paradise! Feel free to explore my blog! (^o^)/

Coal talents

coalition of arts and entertainment

the limitless imagination

a place to let record what exists in my head, at this point in time.

Sakura Publishing Official Blog

Interview with independent and mainstream authors, and the latest scoop on the best new indie books in the world

Rated A For Anime

The Best Place to Get Anime Bookmarks, Calendars, More

STAR ♥ DUST

by Rosie Darling

honyasbookshelf

sharing a passion for story

An Anarchist's Cookbook

Cooking up a world without coercion

48 Family Center

Everything about 48 Family, is here!

