Denny Sinnoh's "Akihabara Starlight"

iwasa misaki tumblr_m5b44vZjoJ1qcjwj8o1_1280

Darn the luck – my computer monitor went out last week. I had no way to check or compose or read any social media posts all weekend. I needed to obtain information about the Iwasa Misaki solo concert on January 30th.  What could I do? I was so bored I even watched American TV. My friend Bob will verify that there was very little Wasamin coverage in the Cleveland Plain Dealer. … and they totally missed this great poster:

iwasa misaki concert poster

The cool art poster for the concert.

Turns out … drum roll … Wasamin announced her GRADUATION during this concert!

Well, you would think I would be a big pile of sobbing jelly hearing this news. (Scoffs) I am NOT. I cannot say that I am happy about it, but it was not unexpected. Miss Iwasa has been with AKB48 for a long time, so it does not surprise me that she would make the announcement at her first solo concert. It was her 21st Birthday too.

iwasa-misaki-akb48-21

Misaki-san + Cake = Denny’s Happiness

I thought that she might graduate after that last AKB election. Ahem … Wasamin did not even RANK in the 2015 election. I could not believe that she was shut out of the top 80 members in the 48Family. (cough) … especially when lesser singers (cough cough) were so highly ranked. What an injustice that night was. I must have kicked over every trash can in Akihabara that night (or would have.)

According to various news reports*, Misaki-san will leave to pursue an Enka-singing career. I know she will be great, and it is mainly though her that I have been turned on to the genre.

I think that she would be good in any genre. She can handle any Jpop or rock song out there.  I hope that she finds the right team of songwriters and producers. I wonder if she will continue with Yasushi Akimoto’s songs. Maybe she will dabble in some songwriting herself. Whatever she decides, I will support her.

I am also hoping that there will be a DVD of her solo concert, and that there will be a DVD available for the AKB48 concert in which she graduates. So many in the family have announced graduation, they could all be funneled into one big show. Will Mr. Akimoto compose a special graduation song just for Wasamin? (Maybe.) Will Miss Iwasa finally get to center an AKB48 single? (Ha … NOT likely.)

At this writing, I am still hoping to find more photos and information from the concert Saturday night, and will post them accordingly. Really, any memorabilia would be great. I am willing to dumpster-dive through Tokyo’s recycling if need be.

wasmin concert stub

Fellow bloggers had posted these:

iwasa-misaki-graduation-01

Yes, my feelings on the last election too . Oh, OK … not that one.

iwasa-misaki-graduation-03

I may be feeling a tear myself, Wasamin.

I wish Wasamin the best. (Denny sighs) She can move on to other things now … she will probably be dating soon.

(Ahem) … I hope she finds a nice guy who will support her, and treat her well (… choke….sniffle ). I think that she deserves to have a good man … (choke) … and she will probably get married in a couple of years … (Denny beginning to sob)…

iwasa misaki tumblr_ny11tlifF11s82ar1o7_540

I also think she will make a good mother someday  … (Denny’s tears flowing uncontrollably now) … she will raise a happy home … full of music and laughter … and she will teach her kids to sing songs … there will be a lot of love (um … gulp.) … and happiness in the household … her husband will love her and cherish her … good for you Wasamin (Denny starts to lose it) … I will be happy for you ….

Waaa …. (Denny starts crying like Lucy Ricardo)

Starlight: Can one of you help me up off the floor?

* http://akbzine.com/2016/01/30/iwasa-misaki-announces-graduation/

http://akb48-daily.blogspot.com/2016/01/iwasa-misaki-announces-graduation.html

http://www.jpop-idols.com/en/iwasa-misaki-graduation-akb48/

http://www.nikkansports.com/entertainment/akb48/news/1598742.html

http://www.tokyohive.com/article/2016/01/akb48s-iwasa-misaki-announces-graduation

The Cleveland Plain Dealer? Nothing.

Comments on: "I know, Iwasa Misaki just announced her graduation …" (4)

  1. You’re so right about the notable amount of graduations announced, and I 100% so agree that Wasamin should have without question ranked in the general election… it really baffles the mind =/ She’s an immense talent and I wish~* Wasamin all the best too! ^^

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I found this setlist from Stage48.net. I will make a special concert posts if/when I find concert photos. Would it be too much to expect to find recordings>

    Concert Setlist (Wasamin in black autumn leaves patterned kimono)
    0. Toki no Nagare ni Miwo Makase (special pre-show performance only seen by winners of the “backstage tour”)
    1. Hatsuzake
    2. Tomonoura Bojou
    MC (Wasamin crying)
    ~AKB Enka Version Medley~
    3. Flying Get
    4. Halloween Night
    5. Let it Go! ~Ari no Mama de~
    6. Heavy Rotation
    7. Koisuru Fortune Cookie
    MC (Talking about goods)
    8. Tsugaru Kaikyō Fuyugeshiki
    9. Anko Tsubaki wa Koi no Hana
    10. Amagigoe
    MC
    11. Onna no Blues
    VTR (Watarirouka Hashiritai Member Cheer Comments
    (Wasamin roaming the audience, photos allowed during this portion of the show)
    12. Tokyo Boogie Woogie (3rd Floor) [AKB Members spotted in the balcony]
    13. Koisuru Natsu no Hi (2nd Floor)
    14. Tokyo no Bus Girl (1st Floor)
    15. Blue Light Yokohama (1st Floor)
    16. Seto no Hanayome (1st Floor)
    17. Akai Sweet Pea (Stage)
    ~End of photo session~
    18. Nada Sousou (Wasamin on guitar!)
    19. Nagori Yuki (Wasamin on guitar!!)
    MC Happy Birthday! presented by special guest Matsui Sakiko. (Cake prepared by Wasamin’s older sister)
    20. Hakimono to Kasa no Monogatari (Matsui Sakiko on piano)
    21. Tsubasa wo Kudasai (Matsui Sakiko on piano)
    22. Moshimo Watashi ga Sora ni Sundeitara
    End Main Set/Encore Call (WA-SA-MIN!)
    VTR: Collage of photos and videos from birth until today
    Wasamin in White Floral Pattern Kimono
    Encore 1: Kawa no Nagare no You ni
    MC: Band Introduction
    Encore 2: Gomen ne Tokyo
    MC: Graduation Announcement
    Encore 3: Mujineki
    Show End

    Like

  3. Darn i’m still sad!! D:

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

AmeAgari Subs

jp music subs

Annisha Rae

express with passion

I drink and watch anime

Anime drinking games pretending to be reviews

Insomniac Writer!!!

Poems and Stories about everything that is life...and sometimes everything is what it takes to find a better you.

The Godly Chic Diaries

Smiling • Writing • Dreaming

Japan Yabai Post

Cool stuff in Japan and Fukuoka

Video Games Nebula

Out of This World

D-pad Joy

PS4, XBO, Switch and PC news, reviews, indie games and developers

Retro Gamer Ireland

Retro video game nerd with a love of nostalgia and all things gaming.

J and K Blog

J for Jpop and K for Kpop!

Writing Under The Shades of Blue

I write not just to express but to explain.

Brian Camp's Film and Anime Blog

Flash Gordon meets Cowboy Bebop at Shaolin Temple

YuriReviews and More

YuriReviews is a blog about everything yuri~

ANIME ANIMÁCIÓK

ANIMÁCIÓS GYŰJTEMÉNY KÉPEKBEN

SilentReaders

Just Readers

Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

愛の演歌: Love of Enka

A blog about my passion for Enka music~

Gastradamus

Gastradamus is my name, and Gassy Topics are my game!

Rationalising The Universe

one post at a time

The Reviewer's Corner

The Sometimes Serious Corner of the Internet for Anime, Manga, and Comics

Pinky's Palace

All Things Anime

Tokyo Five

A family of five in Tokyo, Japan...

Life Confusions

"I Will Find Words, Smith them Down. For Love Is Infinite And So Are They."

Fantage Chatter

Lost in Words

Manga Toritsukareru Koto

"We are not obsessed. We just need anime and manga in our life."

Inner Thoughts of an Extrovert

Thoughts and ramblings from an extroverted anime fan.

2+2=4

AKB48 Shipper? welcome

百合 Goggles

百合 Is Life

Kawaii Kakkoii Sugoi

Japanese Culture Magazine for the perpetually Cute and Cool

Rhino

My Journey through Video Games & Geek Culture

The Punch Bowl

raw feelings and thoughts

Dyversions: Blog of 1,001 Games

The [mis]adventures of a gamer and shopaholic

~noor~

I'm not an author. I write only to render a bit of joy...and happily be a part of sad and coy! Your life is my canvas and your smile is the enhancement of my creation!

Falconhaxx

This and that, sometimes and occasionally.

Anime Reviews and Lots of Other Stuff!

Where We Can Watch Our Anime in Peace

Pokécology

Ecologically overthinking representations of space/place and nonhumans in pokéverse! Updated Fridays

JapanTrekker

Explore Japan!

Mage in a Barrel

An Anime Blog for Those Who Want to Find Magic in Unexpected Places

Land of the Rising Sound

Rise to the Sound of Japan!

meta t h e r e s a

process. write. repeat

OtakuGamerGirlT

All Anime, Manga, Games, All the Time

CheesyBits' Paradise

Heya! Welcome to my paradise! Feel free to explore my blog! (^o^)/

