Denny Sinnoh's "Akihabara Starlight"

Pokémon Nicknames: Bruxish

Alola cousins! (Denny imitating Professor Kukui): “Have you tried the fish tacos?”

bruxishtumblr_o9l93mvilp1ttdkobo1_400

Bruxish (in Japanese: ハギギシリ “Hagigishiri” is a Water and Psychic dual type. Thus far, there are no known evolutionary forms. It is given “Gnash Teeth” as its Pokémon category. Gnash teeth? I can hear Mrs. Sinnoh’s teeth gnashing whenever I am playing Pokémon and I’m supposed to be doing chores and home repair.

I was excited and very interested to see this new Alola region Pokémon. It looks weird, and maybe a little unnatural, but that is what I like about it. Some Pokémon resemble their real animal counterparts a little too much. Bruxish is based on a real life Hawaiian Reef Triggerfish. Bruxish’s wild psychedelic coloration also remind me of a real-life Parrotfish as well. Bruxish’s body is more “head-shaped” than fish-shaped it seems. Its mouth reminds me of the Kissing Fishand and the sharp teeth remind me of a Piranha.

Bruxish has an odd flower-like protuberance on the top of its head. It is this organ which is the source of its psychic power. Bruxish’s full biology is described at the Bulbapedia site linked here.

My old hippie friend thinks that you should catch this fish, dry-cure the protuberance – then SMOKE IT for a really mellow buzz. I disagree. I am anti-drugs for one thing, plus I think that Poké-animals should be treated a little more kosher. They are spiritual beings, and they should not exist merely to be over-harvested, or in order to make us feel good about ourselves… but I digress.

lady-caught-a-triggerfish

I used my psychic powers to nab this fish.

I nicknamed a female Bruxish with “Outstanding” potential “Kiss-Me-Kate” after the famous musical of the same name. Here is a song from the movie version. My Kiss-Me-Kate is a ladyfish with the “Strong Jaw” ability, which enhances her “biting” moves. “Psychic Fangs” is her signature move.

bruxishimg_0286

I named another “RazzleDazzel” because the fish’s coloration may dazzle opponents. It has the “Dazzling” ability, which surprises the enemy and makes the opponents’ “priority moves” useless.

bruxishimg_0289

You could name these fish after famous impressionist artists – “Picassofish” after the painter. I think that “Matisse” would be a good arty name, and would work for males or females. You can think of your favorite artist. I named one “ColorMeGone” after the alt-rock group. You may like “ColorMeBad” rather.

Haruka suggested the name "Fish Taco" I dont know why.

Haruka also suggested the name “Fish Taco” I don’t know why.

I named one toothy fish “Britishsmiles” after an episode of “The Simpsons”. Ralph Wiggims was wary of going to a dentist, and lied about brushing his teeth regularly. The dentist pulled out a photo book titled “The Big Book of British Smiles”. The joke being this book would scare children into taking care of their teeth, so that they would not end up looking like a Cockney prostitute. That humorous clip is LINKED HERE.

british-smiles3d6d8114947f7bfa0ea60dc1c42c501c

Also along the British theme, I named a Bruxish “Brexit” because I just thought the fit the fish. It will beat you, then exit. Of course, the real Brexit will never happen, as Britain’s central government does not want the U.K. to leave the EU and will delay the process until it can be voted down in another election. … and yes, I do digress again …

bruxishimg_0290

The hippie movement and psychedelia thing could be mined for more “SummerOfLove” and other groovy names.”Love + Peace” for example. If only there were some way to get this HKT48 song piped into the White House and the Kremlin at the same time.

Some other names I might suggest, but have not used yet include:

Humuhumu” would be a great (shortened) name for the real triggerfish’s Hawaiian name:  “humuhumunukunukuāpuaʻa”. 

humuhumutriggerfish

The song is LINKED HERE.

Trig” as Bruxish resembles a trigger-fish, although that name sounds a little too macho for such a gay-colored fish.

bruxish-lost-in-translation-1467300164179

Um … I think this was a translation error from the original Japanese Sun Moon anime.

Dragqueen” due to its lip coloration, and arguably the fish resembles a guy wearing makeup. Covered with makeup, but you can still tell it is a guy. They are pretty good about not gnashing there their teeth though. Ahem … you should see what types of images dirty-minded people are posting about Bruxish on Tumblr … and yes, I digress again.

bruxishimg_0280

You have to watch how you pet these Snapper-fish.

Headshop” due to its shape, and its psychedelic coloration. “Bad Acid” as in the quote “remember the time you took that bad acid, and you got up on top of the roof, and said that you were Jesus Christ and that you could fly?”

What … wait … Fish tacos? You mean those are really real, Haruka ? … I always thought “Fish Taco” was just a euphemism.

eats_a_fish_taco_by_shpatoinkle_guy_not_me

What is the name of your Psychic Fish? Please comment!

Comments on: "Pokémon Nicknames: Bruxish" (2)

  1. Brexit is a good name for a fish. The debate over leaving Europe will never fin-ish.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The alolan dragonite said:

    I name does my bruxish rubalicious because of the color of its lips. Oh I forgot to mention this ones a shiny ^^

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

High Quality Gifs

Best gifs from reddit

太郎

政治 風景 映画 芸能 有名人 ニュース 健康 医療 文化 放射能 中高年

Tokyobling's Blog

Tokyo in Photos

Annisha Rae

express with passion

I drink and watch anime

Anime drinking games pretending to be reviews

Insomniac Writer!!!

Poems and Stories about everything that is life...and sometimes everything is what it takes to find a better you.

The Godly Chic Diaries

Smiling • Writing • Dreaming

Japan Yabai Post

Cool stuff in Japan and Fukuoka

Video Games Nebula

Out of This World

D-pad Joy

PS4, XBO, Switch, PC and Mobile news, reviews, indie games and developers

Retro Gamer Ireland

Retro video game nerd with a love of nostalgia and all things gaming.

J and K Blog

J for Jpop and K for Kpop!

Writing Under The Shades of Blue

I write not just to express but to explain.

Brian Camp's Film and Anime Blog

Flash Gordon meets Cowboy Bebop at Shaolin Temple

YuriReviews and More

YuriReviews is a blog about everything yuri~

ANIME ANIMÁCIÓK

ANIMÁCIÓS GYŰJTEMÉNY KÉPEKBEN

SilentReaders

Just Readers

Kurayami Monogatari

Would love a comment every so often <<

愛の演歌: Love of Enka

A blog about my passion for Enka music~

Gastradamus

Gastradamus is my name, and Gassy Topics are my game!

Rationalising The Universe

one post at a time

The Reviewer's Corner

The Sometimes Serious Corner of the Internet for Anime, Manga, and Comics

Pinky's Palace

Royal Rants and Fangirling

Tokyo Five

A family of five in Tokyo, Japan...

Life Confusions

"I Will Find Words, Smith them Down. For Love Is Infinite And So Are They."

Fantage Chatter

Lost in Words

Manga Toritsukareru Koto

"We are not obsessed. We just need anime and manga in our life."

Inner Thoughts of an Extrovert

Thoughts and ramblings from an extroverted anime fan.

2+2=4

AKB48 Shipper? welcome

百合 Goggles

百合 Is Life

Kawaii Kakkoii Sugoi

Japanese Culture Magazine for the perpetually Cute and Cool

Rhino

My Journey through Video Games & Geek Culture

The Punch Bowl

raw feelings and thoughts

Dyversions: Blog of 1,001 Games

The [mis]adventures of a gamer and shopaholic

~noor~

I'm not an author. I write only to render a bit of joy...and happily be a part of sad and coy! Your life is my canvas and your smile is the enhancement of my creation!

Falconhaxx

This and that, sometimes and occasionally.

Anime Reviews and Lots of Other Stuff!

Where We Can Watch Our Anime in Peace

Pokécology

Ecologically overthinking representations of space/place and nonhumans in pokéverse! Updated Fridays

JapanTrekker

Explore Japan!

Mage in a Barrel

An Anime Blog for Those Who Want to Find Magic in Unexpected Places

Land of the Rising Sound

Rise to the Sound of Japan!

